The University of Denver men’s lacrosse team was seeded No. 5 and will host North Carolina on Saturday, May 10 at 5:30 p.m. MT at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium. The game will air live on ESPNU. The Pioneers are on an 11-game win streak heading into the tournament with a 14-2 overall record. North Carolina sits at 10-4 on the season and are coming off a 13-11 loss to Virginia in the ACC Showcase.

This is the second straight year that the Pioneers have hosted the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship First Round and the third time in program history. This will also be the third straight time that the Pioneers and the Tar Heels will meet in the NCAA Tournament.

“We are thrilled about the season that our young men put together, with so many big victories, a BIG EAST Regular Season Title and a BIG EAST Championship,” said DU men’s lacrosse head coach Bill Tierney. “We are also very excited to be in our fifth straight NCAA Tournament and honored to be able to host a great North Carolina team at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium.”

The Pioneers earned the automatic qualifier to the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship after winning the BIG EAST Championship with a 14-7 win over No. 3 seed Villanova on Saturday.

For the first time, the 16-team field features two play-in games (May 7) yielding from 10 automatic and eight at-large bids.

Duke was awarded the overall top seed and will play the winner of the Air Force vs. Richmond play-in game on Sunday at 3:15 p.m. MT. Syracuse was tabbed the No. 2 seed and will host the winner of the final play-in game between Bryant and Siena on Sunday, May 11 at 5:30 p.m. MT on ESPNU.

No. 3 Loyola will take on offensive powerhouse Albany on Saturday at 10 a.m. MT, while No. 4 seed Penn will host Drexel on Sunday at 1 p.m. MT on ESPNU.

No. 6 seed Notre Dame will host Harvard on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. MT on ESPNU. No. 7 Maryland will host Cornell on Saturday at 3 p.m. MT on ESPNU. Rounding out the bracket is No. 8 Virginia, hosting Johns Hopkins on Sunday at 11 a.m. MT on ESPN2.

ESPN2, ESPNU and WatchESPN will provide exclusive coverage of the final 15 games of the 2014 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday, May 10, and concluding with the national title game on Monday, May 26. The National Championship will also air on ESPNU via the Spider Cam feed – an alternate viewing fan experience that in the past was integrated into the traditional telecast.

Join the NCAA lacrosse twitter conversation: #NCAALAX.

Tickets for the First Round of the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship will go on sale on Monday at 9 a.m. MT for season ticket holders. Tickets for non-season ticket holders will go on sale on Tuesday at 9 a.m. MT.


  • Denver is making its fifth straight NCAA postseason appearance; seventh in program history. Last season, Denver advanced to its second Semifinals in three seasons, falling to Syracuse 9-8 at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pa.
  • In 30 seasons of coaching, coach Tierney has compiled six NCAA Championships, eight NCAA Championship final appearances, 12 NCAA Semifinal appearances and 19 quarterfinal appearances. Coach Tierney is also 9-3 in NCAA First Round games.
  • Denver is 5-6 in the NCAA Tournament, but has advanced to Championship Weekend in two of the last three seasons.